Ditching The Mirror!

WP_20140726_12_20_20_Pro 1
Fujifilm X-T1 with ZEISS Touit Lenses; 12mm f/2.8 and 32mm f/1.8 :: shot with the Nokia Lumia 1020.

Wow… it’s been an awfully long time since I last posted something here on the blog.  Sure, I have my reasons – but that doesn’t really matter.  But just for the record, I wasn’t in jail or anything.  Smile  I just took a little break.  I’m happy to be back to blogging as well as diving further into photography once again.  And actually, that’s what I’m writing about today!

Not only and I jumping back into creating images, I’m also simplifying things quite a bit in terms of gear.  Why?  I don’t really need that much.  I’ve transitioned from shooting DSLRs to mirrorless cameras.  “What?!” you say?  As I’ve professed here many a time, the camera doesn’t make photographs and that’s still just as true to me as it was the day I first wrote about it.  The camera is a tool though and it’s important to choose the proper tool for the job you’re going to be doing.  Now, before someone starts a war over Nikon vs Canon vs Leica vs Fuji etc, hear me out. 

I’m looking to pack light and travel light, yet still carry a camera body and optics that give me the most amount of control for the photographs that I make.  That’s the reason why I’m “Ditching The Mirror” and selling off my DLSRs for my new camera: the Fujifilm X-T1.  It’s smaller, lighter, offers the versatility of using interchangeable lenses, and has probably the best APS-C sized sensor to this day.  If I were running and gunning, shooting sports or action or some other subject in which I needed to fire off a gazillion frames per second you could bet the farm that I’d have a DSLR.  But the bottom line is that I don’t. 

Since I just received this new beauty, I’ll reserve my comments and thoughts until after I’ve had a chance to really put it through it’s paces.  I am demoing a couple of ZEISS Touit lenses for this camera as well – the 12mm f/2.8 and the 32mm f/1.8.  I’ll let you know what my thoughts are on those as well.  First impressions?  I’m thoroughly happy with my choice to go with Fuji and I’m excited to go out and make some photographs. 

That’s a wrap for today – hopefully there are still a few readers out there!  Have a great weekend and don’t forget to make time to get out and shoot!

Best,

Stephen

Leave a Reply

