Nikon D7000 – My Thoughts

D7000_18_105_MB_frttop.jpg

Yep, that’s right – Nikon has dropped it’s newest and hottest DX format DSLR on the world as of Tuesday night!  Today I’ll share with you my thoughts on this new camera and what I like and don’t like.  So let’s get started!  (All images are courtesy of Nikon USA.)

The D7000 is the replacement for the D90 which was announced in the summer of 2008 and began shipping in October of 2008.  The D90 has been a great camera body and it’s worth more than it’s weight in gold as far as I’m concerned – but it did lack a few things.  I’m happy to report that some of those things that I had hoped would be on the D90 and weren’t, are now on the D7000.  Thank you Nikon for listening to your customers!

PROS

Megapixels don’t really matter, so I could care less that the new sensor has 16.2.  What’s really impressive is that it handles ISOs up to 6400 and I’m sure the files will look as good (or better) than the D90’s do at ISO 3200.  That’s exciting!  Extreme low noise performance out of a DX format body.  That just rocks!

D7000_Mgbody_1.jpg

The new magnesium alloy body is something that I wasn’t expecting at all!  I’m really happy that Nikon saw that there were a lot of pros who were shooting with the D90 and decided to make the D7000 capable of putting up with a little more abuse.  You will also note that the camera strap eyelets are the same as the D300s, D700, and D3s/D3x camera bodies.  A subtle, but nice touch.  The D7000 body will also be weather sealed like it’s pro-level counterparts, further enhancing it’s usefulness in the field.

There are some other nuances about the D7000 that scream to those experienced with Nikon equipment that the company is marketing this camera body towards pros.  The shutter release button is the same style that is on Nikon’s pro-level cameras.  They upgraded the in-camera light meter, changed the max shutter speed to 1/8000th of a second, and the max flash sync speed to 1/250th of a second.  Oh, and did you notice that you can now selected your shutter release mode (Single Shot, Continuous Low, Continuous High, Timer) from a dial right below your mode selector?  And how about the 39-point auto focus and the continuous auto focus while shooting video?  Did I mention that the viewfinder is now 100% too?

These are all little things that may not sound like much, but to the working photographer mean a lot.  It’s important to be able to change settings in your camera without the hassle of going through a menu to find what you’re looking for.  We would rather be able to know where the dial or button is and change a setting without removing our eye from the viewfinder.

D7000_Cardslot_2.jpg

I mentioned video above.  The dual SD card slots allow you to be able to select the function of the second card – say… for videos.  Being able to shoot in 1080p is also nice, although the 720p HD of the D90 and D300s is nothing to balk at either.  Nikon also changed the format of the videos too.  Video is now captured in .MOV format vice the .AVI format of the D-Movie mode cameras.  Very nice touch.  The dedicated video record button will also be helpful when shooting video.  For someone like me who’s starting to really get into shooting video, the D7000 is a huge improvement on the video features available on the D90, D5000, D300s and D3s.  I’m really excited about it!

CONS

EN_EL15.jpg

It wouldn’t be fair for me to write about all the things I like so far about the D7000 and leave out the things that I don’t like.  I am not a fan of the new battery – the EN-EL15.  Yes, it’s a technology improvement but it makes all the current models that used the EN-EL3e battery (D80, D90, D200, D300, D300s, D700) obsolete.  If I wanted to use the D7000 as a primary camera body and one of the older bodies as a backup, I would have to carry separate batteries and separate chargers.  I’m not a fan of carrying gear that I don’t need to be carrying.  On the upside, I think that Nikon’s future bodies (D400 and whatever else they release) will use this new style battery.  The D4 will likely use a battery similar to the one that is in the D3/s, but I think it will get an upgrade too.

I would also have liked to see Nikon add 7 or 9 frame exposure bracketing to the D7000.  But alas, I guess you can’t have it all.  If I really want those extra brackets I can shoot them manually if I have the time for the particular shot that I’m making.  That feature will mainly appeal to those who wish to shoot HDR images, but even if you’re not shooting HDR it can still be useful.

I’m also not a fan that there is a new battery grip, but with a new battery it was going to happen regardless.  It’s another accessory that would have to be purchased to maintain my current configuration.  However, even if I upgraded to a D300s or a D700 I would be in the same boat.

What Does This Mean to You (or me)?

If you’ve known me for any length of time, you know that I’m not a gear head.  I like to review gear that I buy and use and try new things, but I don’t believe that great gear makes great pictures.  All great gear does is make our job of making pictures a little easier.  So don’t think for one second that going out and buying this new camera is going to have a dramatic impact on the quality of your images.  Think of it from the perspective of buying a better tool that will make your job easier.  Will I upgrade?  I’m not sure yet.  I’m perfectly content with my D90 and even if I did sell it, I would probably get $800.00 at best for the camera, the MB-D80 grip, and the batteries and charger.  (I even still have the box!)  So then I’m spending another $400.00 for the new D7000 and probably $250.00 for the new grip.  Are the new tools going to make that much of a difference to justify the expense at this point?  Likely not.

With it’s high ISO performance, I think you will see a lot of wedding shooters forgo the D700 for this camera though.  It’s got everything they need and nothing that they don’t.  Especially if they are beginning to shoot video for their weddings too.  Portrait photographers, photojournalists, and maybe even some sports photographers will find this camera useful due to it’s greater durability, 1.5x crop factor, and 6 fps shooting speed.  Overall, I’m happy to see my camera manufacturer of choice stepping up their game and putting out such a great piece of gear.  And you can bet that if I get my hands on one, I’ll be reviewing it here on the blog.

That’s it for today ladies and gents.  I appreciate you coming along and hearing me out on my thoughts of the new D7000 from Nikon.  If you’re going to be in the San Diego area on October 2nd, 2010 (or know someone who is), don’t forget that I’m teaching my Portrait Photography Workshop that day.  Come out and learn about portrait photography, lighting, workflow, and more.  Here’s the link for more information and to register! Have a great day and happy shooting!

9 thoughts on “Nikon D7000 – My Thoughts

  1. The Nikon Coolpix P7000 Digital Camera is a compact, high-performance digital camera providing outstanding image good quality along with accurate image resolution control. Thank you for sharing the content, I appreciate that.

  2. Very good view on the camera,im all set to buy the camera,sadly it has not yet reached,I recently read somewhere that its going to get shipped 0nly after October 10th and date given for pre-ordered people is oct 10 to 22nd,Can you put some light on that. thank you

    • Hi Robinn,

      Unfortunately I don’t have any updated information about when the camera will actually ship. B&H Photo and Adorama both still show that they have no expected arrival date and they are probably two dealers that will be the first to have the camera in stock. I would expect to see the camera begin to arrive in stores and online shops by the end of next week, but that’s just my speculation.

      All the best,

      Stephen

  3. This camera came out thru Best Buy and Amazon on Oct. 16th. I was able to get mine thru my local camera shop (who happens to be the top Nikon dealer in the state) as I was #1 on the waiting list and had put a $200 deposit down.

    Unfortunately the body only won’t be available for another month or more, so I had to buy the kit w/ the 18-105mm lens, which I’m hoping to sell soon.

    I sold my D90 in 1 hour on Amazon last week (I don’t think many ppl were aware of the D7000 coming out) for $850 w/ the kit lens.

    This camera is AWESOME! I’m still learning a ton, but so far I am very impressed. It’s a lot faster at focusing then the D90 and the 39 focal points really help get a sharp image everytime. The body is sturdy and has a very comfortable feel. I’ve only owned it for 3 days now, but I’m very impressed!

  4. Hey great review. One question though, for a photojournalist which camera would you go for? The D7000 or the D300s? Im leaning towards the D300s from the spec but wouldn’t mind hearing your opinion. The video isnt important to me im in it for the pictures 😀
    Thanks mate.

    • Hey Jeb,

      For a PJ I would recommend the D7000 at this point. The D7000 has all the “pro” quality features of the D300s, but is in a smaller package. Sensor performance on the D7000 is going to beat the D300s. Just sort of the nature of the beast.

      I hope that helps!

      Stephen

  5. I know ou wrote your D7000 review two years ago now, but If you’ve got a few spare moments I hope you might comment on a point you made that I don’t understand.

    You mention the various pro features and include the 39 point auto focus system, which you say means a lot to a working photographer. But I can’t quite understand what the use of it is.

    When I use it the 39 focus points, focus jumps around randomly and is mostly less than useful. So I stick with continuous spot focusing using the rear AE/AF button for focusing and the shutter button just for release. It seems to give me good control of setting my focus exactly and fast, I can hold the button or release it depending on whether the subject is moving, then recomposing as I wish.

    I realise the camera makers and reviewers make a lot of the multiple focus systems, so they must serve an obvious purpose. When would a working photographer prefer the 39 point system, and is there something I’m missing?

    Thanks for your helpful review and I hope you have time to comment further.

    • The main reason a working photographer would use the 39 focus points is during critical focus. When you compose a close headshot for example and want to have a very shallow depth of field, you want the eyes to be very sharp. In this instance I would use one of the 39 focus points so that I could compose my shot and then focus right on the eyes. This way I can see exactly how my shot would be composed before I focus. If I were using the center focus point and focused on the eyes and then recomposed the shot before releasing the shutter, I could wind up blowing my focus because with shallow depth of field my focus plane has changed since I have moved the camera.

      When shooting action and letting the camera control which focus point it uses, I would be much more likely to get my subject in focus as there are more points available to the camera when it selects a focus point.

      These are just a couple of examples, but will give you an idea of how the additional focus points can be very useful.

      All the best,

      Stephen

Leave a Reply

