Self-Assignment: Stills and Video with iPhone 4

Over the weekend we made a family trip up to Legoland.  I wanted to be able to go on rides with the kids, have fun, and not worry about my camera.  So I decided to give myself an assignment: to only shoot stills and video with my iPhone 4.  I had been wanting to play around more with the iMovie app as well, so this was a perfect opportunity.

The video above was shot and edited solely on my iPhone.  I even added the music right in the iMovie app.  The app still leaves a lot to be desired though.  It doesn’t allow for titling and you only get one audio track which is kind of a drag.  Nonetheless, it’s not bad considering the platform that you’re working on and it’s well worth the $4.99 price tag.

I took the images below with an app called Hipstamatic, which is based off of the Hipstamatic 100 – a cheap plastic camera that used to be around in the 1980s.  They were a little plastic camera body with a plastic lens – and you never really knew what kind of print you were going to end up with.  You can read more about them here.  They were a lot of fun to play around with, much like the app.  It’s one of my three favorite iPhone camera apps – right along with The Best Camera and Camera Bag.

IMG_0850.JPG

IMG_0851.JPG

IMG_0853.JPG

IMG_0855.JPG

I had a blast shooting with my iPhone 4 because things were so simple, quick, and I have it with me all the time.  Just another reminder that you don’t need a fancy camera to make great photographs.  There will be more down the road on video with the iPhone 4, including using it on an upcoming project that I am working on that will be announced soon!

That’s it for today – I hope you have a great day and don’t forget to bring your camera with you!

Leave a Reply

