Cameras Don’t Make Pictures

I’m really starting to get concerned. I read more and more everyday about one photographer bashing another for calling themselves a pro and using gear that isn’t top of the line. It’s absurd and down right ignorant! If for one second, you believe that any piece of gear can make or break a photo then you obviously know little to nothing about photography.

There are three basic things that make for a killer photo: light, composition, and contrast. The first two are self-explanitory and the latter can either be contrast in light or contrast in subject. And guess what, you don’t need a $5,000.00 camera and a $2,000.00 lens to get any of those right. For those having a hard time believing that statement, read up on great photographers like Henry Cartier-Bresson or Ansel Adams. Too much work? Take a look at Chase Jarvis’ iPhone gallery.

I’m serious as a heart attack here folks… gear just doesn’t matter. Quit learning from people lurking around Flickr and start learning from a working pro photographer. I’m not saying that there aren’t great photographers on Flickr who share great information, because there are, but there are far more that regurgitate bad information disseminated by people who just don’t know the whole truth.

The bottom line is that you can do a whole lot with just a little. Just because you don’t have a D3s or a 1D Mark IV doesn’t mean that you can’t be paid for your work or that it won’t be considered professional. Don’t let others hold you back or get you down because you don’t have the 70-200mm f/2.8 lens or a full-frame body. If you do, you’re only cheating yourself.

As always, if you have questions feel free to ask away! Hopefully this is the last time I’ll have to touch in this subject for awhile, but who knows. For now, my rant is complete. I hope you have a great week and get to head out and shoot a lot!


5 thoughts on “Cameras Don’t Make Pictures

  1. Bravo! I was the first of my friends to get a DSLR. Now they all have these really expensive, full frame cameras with 4 or 5 lenses and I am still using my Nikon D80 with my 50mm lens. Half the time I am using my little point & shoot, which I love. Thanks for posting & ranting!

Leave a Reply

