Dabbling in HDR

High Dynamic Range (HDR) photography is something that is relatively new to me. Now, that’s not to say that I don’t know about it or understand it… just that I haven’t shot it really until recently. I was having a conversation with RC Concepcion and Alan Hess after the Adobe CS4 Unleashed Seminar last month and we got onto the subject of HDR photography. RC is really into it (check out some of his HDR work) and Alan brought up a great point about the only people being tired of HDR is photographers.

Sure, in some cases it’s more than played out and gets a little out of control, but I think that when it’s used appropriately you can get some amazing looking photos from shooting HDR. HDR photos allow you to see more of a very contrasty scene, just like our eyes do. This can become a very powerful tool for the likes of landscape and architectural photographers who shoot lots of interiors.

In the photo above of the Christmas lights and decorations, I wanted a more surreal feel to the photo so my HDR processing in Photomatix (a really awesome program for processing HDR photos) was a little stronger. However, I’m looking forward to shooting more HDR and applying it to what I would describe as more realistic situations.


2 thoughts on “Dabbling in HDR

  1. Navy housing? If so, HDR makes it look really nice. I’ve done a couple of HDR photos but I only used one file and just made copies of it and adjusted the EV on each. They looked okay, but nothing as good as a true HDR photo would look.

Leave a Reply

