A Few Words About NAPP & Kelby Training Live

As most of you probably already know, I’m a NAPP (National Association of Photoshop Professionals) member, and have been for 2 years now. I can’t tell you in this blog post (because it would be too long) how valuable membership is, but I’ll do my best to keep it short and sweet. In a nutshell, I almost feel bad that I only pay $99.00 per year for my membership because what I get out of it is worth WAY more than that.

First of all, a NAPP membership automatically gets you a subscription to Photoshop User magazine, which is $9.99 at the cover price. You get 8 issues per year, so with just that your membership almost pays for itself. All I have to do is add in the fact that I don’t pay for shipping on my camera gear when I buy it from my favorite store in New York, and my membership has already paid for itself and does so each year.

Second, the resources available to NAPP members are incredible and the amount of training that comes with your membership via the member’s website and forums is incredible. I’ve got a one-stop resource for anything that I want to know about Photoshop and Lightroom.

Third (and last I’ll mention today), is the discounts available for NAPP members to any of the Kelby Training Live events. For most seminars, you can save $20.00 off of the already low price. And conveniently, this brings me to my next point.

Yesterday I attended my first Kelby Training Live seminar, the Adobe CS4 Unleashed Seminar and it was incredible. It was a full 5 hours worth of extremely helpful and valuable information on the entire Creative Suite. Dave Cross and Rafael “RC” Concepcion covered InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, Acrobat, and Flash. The price of the seminar was $39.00 (because I’m a NAPP member, $49.00 for everyone else) and again I felt like I wasn’t paying enough for what I was getting. Everyone who walked through the door received a copy of Layers or Photoshop User magazine as well as the CS4 Suite Integration DVD by Dave Cross, valued at $70.00. So right when you walk through the door you’re $30.00 ahead.

One of the other great things I liked about the event was that even though there were books and DVDs available for purchase, it was all soft-sell. By this I mean that every time you walked past their table at lunch or on a break someone was there to help answer your questions and you could make purchases, but there was no pressure at all to buy. At several seminars I have been to, companies want to sell as much product as they can and they push their people hard to do so. Definitely not the case at Kelby Training Live events.

The day before, I brought Dave and RC out to the ship to give them a tour and we did a little shooting. More on that on Monday! Dave and RC are a couple of really great guys and I enjoyed dinner with them and a few of the NAPP folks after the seminar last night.

If you’re not already a member of NAPP and you’re use Photoshop, Lightroom, or any of Adobe’s products I highly recommend that you join. You’ll certainly be glad that you did! See you guys on Monday for some rockin’ photos and some details behind ’em!


2 thoughts on “A Few Words About NAPP & Kelby Training Live

  1. Pingback: A Few Words About NAPP & Kelby Training Live « Stephen's … | PhotoShopped

Leave a Reply

