Poster Contest Print and Giving Thanks

Yesterday I had the distinct pleasure of meeting the Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy (MCPON) while he presented my suicide prevention poster team with prints for our winning poster entry. It was a great honor just to be selected as the winner and know that our message will soon be distributed throughout the U.S. Navy Fleet to aid in the prevention of suicides. The prints were incredible and Matt Poling and Chuck Long each received a print too, as well as one for the ship.

It was pretty surreal being recognized for something that isn’t my normal job in the Navy. Although I volunteer as the ship’s photographer, I usually don’t do it on a daily basis. Among the competition for the poster were several folks who happen to work in the mass communications field and they shoot photos and work in Photoshop every single day. It’s their job.

However, good photography and knowledge of Photoshop only played a small part in our team’s success. Since the three of us had lost a Shipmate to suicide and have had first-hand experience, our desire to send a powerful message was the real driving force behind our work.

In light of all of this, I would like to send out a few “thank you” notes to some people who gave me the tools that helped put our entry on top:

  • First of all, thanks to my wife Kelie and my kids who stand behind me and support me in all that I do. Thanks for letting me take your picture, try different lighting setups, and carry a camera with me everywhere we go. I love you guys more than anything in the world!
  • Next, to my Mom, Dad, Ryan, Chris, Grandparents, Aunts, Uncles, Cousins, my whole entire family, Chain of Command and friends who support me, encourage me, and believe in me. Thank you!
  • To Scott Kelby and all the folks at theNational Association of Photoshop Professionals (NAPP) for all the great training, resources, and insight you provide. I’ve learned so much more about Photoshop by being a member!
  • To David Hobby, THE Strobist, for providing the best resources on lighting available on the Web. I have a learned a TON about lighting from reading his blog and having discussions with other Strobist readers.
  • And last but not least, to all the photographers (hobbyist, amateur, and pro) that have inspired me. We have a great community of people and I’m glad to be a small part of it. Thanks to you all!

With that, I’ll wrap up this post. I’m up to my ears in post processing from events over the past week so I’ll be busy this weekend! I hope you have a great weekend and I’ll see you back here on Monday with some news and who knows what else I’ll come up with! See you then!

(Photo above by IC3 Billie Jean Pruiett.)


14 thoughts on “Poster Contest Print and Giving Thanks

  1. Stephen,

    Congratulations! I hope your contribution will help save lives for those in the military.

    Keep up the great work and look forward to seeing some of your upcoming projects on the blog.

    Chris

  2. Not only is it awesome that you won, but its pretty cool too that you got to meet the MCPON. It’s always great to see a fellow bubble head in a high ranking position. Congrats again!

  3. Congrats on receiving such a prestigious visitor. I stumbled on this via NAAP’s Facebook and I thought that it would be polite so congrats for such an important matter.

Leave a Reply

