This Is Why I Preach About Backups!

Image courtesy of Iomega.com.
It’s every photographer’s worst nightmare… losing all of his or her images to a hard drive failure. Some photogs can’t even sleep at night unless they know that their photos are safe. I’m not that paranoid, but I still take a few precautions. Why am I reiterating this subject? Because I had a near miss and that’s part of why you don’t have the Think Tank Airport Security review that I’ve been promising you.

The good news is that I didn’t lose any hard drives, but instead I lost a power supply. I know it doesn’t sound all that bad, but when you’re external hard drive with all of your photos on it won’t mount your heart will skip a beat too!

I’m using the Iomega UltraMax Double 1TB hard drive. This drive has worked really well and I have no complaints whatsoever about it. It’s configurable to either a RAID 0 or RAID 1 and I only use it in RAID 1. This means that my total hard drive size is 500GB, but since there are two drives inside I get an exact copy of what is on the 500GB drive which means that my data is protected.

So my only recourse to this problem was to try and find an order a new power supply for the drive. A little research on the internet revealed that these power supplies have been known to have problems. Not what I wanted to hear. But, I’ll order a replacement and see how that goes.

So the moral of the story here is to not only remember to backup your photos, but ensure that you have more than one copy in case your drive fails. If I were rich I’d own a Drobo Pro… maybe someday.

Have a great week!

Stephen


Leave a Reply

