Danny Turns 4

So my youngest Son turns 4 years old today, which coincidentally happens to be my parent’s anniversary. The Misses and I didn’t plan it that way, but it’s really neat nonetheless.

Our neighbors Geoff and Rachel have a little boy Casey, who also turns 4 this month and so we decided to have a double birthday bash a couple of weeks from now. Wanting invitations to send out, I was tasked by the girls to shoot some photos of the boys.

Since they wanted to their picture made in superhero costumes, I decided I would go with some hard light from the sides/behind, toss in a little fill from near on-axis, and a background light for some color. I used a black seamless background and shot it in my garage.

Lighting Stuff:
I used an SB800 through a 24″x24″ Lastolite Ezybox at 1/8 power for my near on axis fill. I set up an SB80DX on each side of the boys, at 1/8 power, on stands with a gobo on the background side to prevent light from hitting my background and washing it out. I used an SB28 with a red gel at 1/4 power and raked it across the black seamless. I had the SB28 zoomed all the way to 85mm. Triggered it all with CyberSyncs and SU-4 mode on the SB80DXs.

Camera Stuff:
Nikon D90, f5.6, 1/125th, ISO200, Sigma 24-70mm lens @ 40mm.

Post Processing:
I stared in Lightroom and got my basic processing tasks done, retouching, etc. and then I headed over to Photoshop CS4 for the more extreme effects. Not a lot to it, but it’s just not really all that possible in Lightroom. There are still some things that require me to go to Photoshop. I don’t mind as long as I’m not doing it all the time!

Hopefully they will have a great time at their birthday party and at least I won’t have to worry about a photographer!

Have a great day and remember: we’re halfway through the week already!


Leave a Reply

