One Big Light… Yet Still Small

Yesterday I received my latest order from B&H Photo, which included my two new lenses and a few other goodies. One thing that I have always stressed here is my liking to moving fast and free when it comes to my lighting setups. I now have a way to get more light using just my speedlights.

Back around the WPPI, Lastolite announced a new product called the Triflash. David Hobby even blogged about it. This awesome little umbrella flash bracket allows you to mount three, (count ’em) THREE speedlights onto one light stand! This is awesome because you can use a large umbrella, like the Westscott 60″ umbrella (that I just bought) or an umbrella type softbox like the Westscott Apollo line. This allows you to have a little more power and a greater volume of light, without having to resort to studio strobes. Don’t get me wrong here, they certainly have their place in the lighting world. But as I’ve said before, I like to move light and fast and don’t want to have to lug around heavy gear.

As a side note, for those of you that follow me on Twitter, my Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 HSM and Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 HSM lenses also arrived yesterday. I got to play with them a little today, and you can expect a full review in the coming weeks.

It’s been a very busy week and I’ve got lots more to do. See you guys soon and Friday is just around the corner! Take care!


One thought on “One Big Light… Yet Still Small

Leave a Reply

