Lastolite Ezybox Review

Alright, it’s time for the long-awaited (for some of you) Lastolite Ezybox review! I’ve been playing with this amazing softbox for a couple of weeks now and I have to say that I am VERY impressed. There are lots of things I like, and really nothing that I don’t like. Without further ado, onto the review! (Lame, I know.)

Portability
I have the 24″x24″ Lastolite Ezybox, which one would think would take up a lot of space. Lastolite fooled us though because it doesn’t take up hardly any space at all! It comes in a little zipper bag that measures 10″ in diameter, which easily fits into most medium-to-large camera bags. The Ezybox is much like Lastolite’s Tri-Grip diffusers and reflectors in that it folds up nice and neat. Think “Magic Shade” for your car and you’ll know what I mean. If you buy the kit with the speed ring and hot shoe bracket, they’ll both fit in the zipper bag with the Ezybox for an ultra-portable softbox solution.

Setup and Breakdown
Once again, the Ezybox really shines here. The first setup takes a couple minutes because you have to open all the plastic bags and whatnot. After you’re first go around, you can set it up in less than a minute. It quickly unfolds into it’s softbox form and all you have to do is slip the speedring into place on the back of the softbox. It attaches in a somewhat unusual manner, but don’t confuse that with dysfunctional because that’s certainly not the case. The speedring is held into place by the outer support pieces of each side of the softbox, at the back of the softbox, and basically held into place by friction. Don’t worry, it won’t go anywhere. It’s pretty sung. I leave the hot shoe bracket attached to the speedring all the time to maintain an ultra-short setup time.

The diffusion panels velcro into place and they stay put. You won’t have to worry about them falling off thanks to the super industrial-type velcro used by Lastolite. Very well done here. Also, when it’s time to break the Ezybox down, you can simply un-velcro and fold one corner of the diffusion panels to the other corner and fold up the Ezybox with the diffusion panels in place. Again, this will make your setup more efficient.

Speaking of breaking down the Ezybox, once the diffusion panels are folded then you can slip the Ezybox off of the speedring and fold it in until it’s flat. Then fold it in half (like a book) and then with the longer side facing you, fold it again just like a Tri-Grip and it’s ready to go into it’s zipper bag. Simple and efficient… which I really dig!

Quality of Light
All I can say is WOW! The light quality from the Ezybox is amazing. It’s soft, beautiful, and flattering! Add the fact that you get more control over your light because it’s a softbox and now we’re really lighting! I’m sorry that I waited so long to get one! Check out the shot below:

I love the big, square catchlights in the eyes! Much better than an umbrella as far as I’m concerned.

Accessories
Lastolite offers an array of accessories for their Ezybox line including a telescoping handle. It is a great thing to have when working alone or with a VAL (Voice Activated Lightstand). The hot shoe bracket that comes with the kit is sturdy and you won’t have to worry about your flash going anywhere, but make sure you have an umbrella swivel bracket if you want to be able to tilt the Ezybox. The way that the bracket is designed is great because you can tilt the box to point straight down on a regular lightstand, which is handy.

Overall, I’m really in love with the Ezybox. It’s amazing, simple to use, quick to set up and break down, and you get the best possible light you can out of your hot shoe flash. Price wise, they list for $217.00 at B&H Photo and they are even less when you add it to your shopping cart. I won’t publish that price as I don’t want to get B&H in trouble. Bogen Imaging, who distributes Lastolite products in the U.S., is offering a $35.00 mail in rebate on the 24″x24″ Lastolite Ezybox Hot Shoe Kit too! I plan on adding a least one more of these to my lighting arsenal.

For more information and videos be sure to check them out on Lastolite’s website.

If you want to get one, here’s where I got mine and so can you!

That’s a wrap for today, I hope you enjoy your Memorial Day weekend and I’ll see you back here next week!


8 thoughts on “Lastolite Ezybox Review

  1. I just ordered the 24 x 24 ezybox from BHphoto today. It cost $339 but that includes the entire kit, light stand, bracket, adaptor ring. Reg price is $389. You can’t beat this kit for portability and ease of set up. Can’t wait to try it.

  2. Ditto, just ordered one based on this review as well as the great videos online showing how great the lighting is. Can’t wait to use with my new Radio Popper units!

  3. Nice, simple review and a great shot. After doing a lot of research, I hope to be ordering one soon. Lastolite makes some smart tools.

    How hard do you think it would be to fit (hack) a second SB-800 in that small speedring opening via some DIY bracket like this http://www.flickr.com/photos/15168416@N00/1442355146/in/photostream/ If possible, I’d like to double my output for quicker daylight wedding/portrait work. Nikon CLS or future RadioPoppers makes this whole setup great!

    Also, how has the tension held up on the box holding around the speedring. I’m wondering if moving it lot or a VAL would shake it loose over time. Any need to fasten it more securely to the speedring?

    Thanks again for sharing this review.

    • Hi Phil,

      With the newer models being designed to accommodate a larger flash head (like the SB900), I wouldn’t think it would be all that hard. If you have a good jigsaw and some time on your hands, I think it’s very feasible. Using two speedlights would be a hassle for me unless I was shooting CLS (which I rarely do). A second speedlight is only going to give you an extra 1/2 stop of light, so for me it wouldn’t really be worth the time for me to do so.

      In your case as a wedding shooter, if you ran two of them at say, 1/4 power AND had external battery packs you would be able to shoot all day long with a decent amount of light output and still have fast recycle times.

      The back of the softbox rests on the speed ring and is held in place by gravity. If your VAL is reasonably careful, you should have a problem at all with it falling off unless you’re fighting a very heavy wind. The only time I have needed more security was when I was shooting a portrait on the beach. It was very windy (about 35-40mph winds) and I had to have an assistant hold the softbox for me so it wouldn’t flap in the wind and fly off of the stand. The stand was sandbagged so it wasn’t going anywhere. 🙂 Regardless, the Ezybox was still usable in that situation – where as an umbrella would be hopeless.

      Glad you enjoyed the review!

      All the best,

      Stephen

Leave a Reply

