Lightroom: Powerful Image Processing

Adobe Photoshop Lightroom has become extremely popular with professional and amateur photographers for many reasons. It’s less expensive than Photoshop, allows you to organize and edit images, print them, export them to the web, create web galleries, and a whole lot more.

Lightroom has become the backbone of all my image processing. I do about 90 to 95 percent of my post production work in Lightroom, and that percentage is growing on a daily basis. I rarely have to go to Photoshop to do anything any more. Granted, there are some things I have to go to Photoshop for, but not a lot.

Don’t get me wrong, Photoshop certainly has it’s place in my workflow. I use it for graphic design tasks, saving what would otherwise be a really bad photo, compositing, and more.

So you want to know how I can get away with using Photoshop so little? Easy, I try my best to get things right in the camera while I’m shooting and I shoot exclusively in RAW format. Getting the exposure, white balance, and composition right in the camera saves me a lot of time in post. Shooting in RAW gives me the most flexibility with my image files so that if I need to tweak color or white balance or exposure I can do so and he integrity of my image is still very high.

The shot you see above was processed completely in Lightroom and I used a preset called Sepia Chic that I bought from Wonderland Presets. I use presets that I’ve downloaded as well as ones that I have created in order to speed up my workflow and save time. Yet another great benefit that comes with using Lightroom.

Lightroom has a permanent place in my workflow and if you’re at all considering using it, you have my strongest recommendation!


4 thoughts on “Lightroom: Powerful Image Processing

  1. I agree…LR has been the backbone of my photo management and processing. I don’t use Photoshop very much as I don’t know how to use it to the extent that I would like. I think the future of LR will only get better as they incorporate some of the following in future versions: borders, watermarks, panorama, and HDR capabilities. In addition, I would like to see better back up capabilities to ensure data security.

    I was wondering if you have any LR presets available for download as I am always looking for new ones to add to my collection.

Leave a Reply

