Photoshop For Fun: Magazine Cover

My good friend Chuck took this picture of his daughter for her 1-Year pictures the other night in my studio. He’s recently gotten into photography and wanted to do some cool high key shots and needed more lights and the white seamless background.

I helped him with the lighting setup, which included 3 Nikon Speedlights total, 1-SB800 and 2-SB80DX units. The SB800 was used in a soft silver reflective umbrella at 1/4 power to light his daughter. I put the two SB80DXs on Justin Clamps and up high to light the background. They were set to 1/2 power. The SB800 was to his daughter’s right about 4 feet away and aiming down at about a 45 degree angle. He shot it with D40 with a Nikon 55-200mm lens and the lights were triggered with CyberSyncs.

I popped his memory card into my MacBook Pro to check out what he had captured. I really liked the feel of this image, so I processed it completely in Lightroom and then moved over to Photoshop to take care of the “magazine cover” aspect of the image. I e-mailed it to him and his wife last night and they loved it.

There are lots of creative things that you can do with Photoshop besides just process images. It’s also great for graphic design and just plain ‘ole puttin’ a smile on somebody’s face… my favorite thing to do with my photography.

Photo by Chuck Long. Disclaimer: This image is the sole work of Chuck Long and Stephen J. Zeller and is in no way affiliated with American Baby magazine.


2 thoughts on “Photoshop For Fun: Magazine Cover

  1. Cool idea and a really great shot of the baby! Nice lighting! What size umbrella?? I use a white shoot-thru (45″) and am finding it’s hard to keep my granddaughter well lit, without the light being really close to her.

    I always enjoy your posts. šŸ™‚

  2. Thanks Marci! I use Westscott 45″ (reflective and shoot-through) and 43″ shoot-through umbrellas.

    The further away your light source, the more power you will need. Getting the light in close will make it seem bigger and softer at the same time.

    If I need more coverage, I use a Justin Clamp on my stand and use two flashes. Another alternative is my Lastolite Tri-Grip diffuser too.

    By the way, you’ve got some nice shots there from your latest posts!

    Cheers,

    Stephen

Leave a Reply

