Photoshop: Not Just For Editing Photos


Okay, if you’re an experienced Photoshop user you probably already know this… but I’m going to discuss it anyway. Photoshop is not only a program for photographers, it’s also a powerful graphic design tool. Before you flame spray me in the comments, remember that there are readers out there that are new to all of this too. Thanks!

Photoshop is a great tool for editing photos, creating panoramas, making photo collages, and certainly retouching images. But did you also know that you can use it for promoting yourself as a photographer too? Given it’s graphic design capabilities and you can do a whole heck of a lot with Photoshop to create things like business cards, flyers, web ads, and more. There are even a lot of trader printers that have links to Photoshop templates that you can download and use to create your art. Then you can save and upload those files for your order!

I’m not going to go into a huge graphic design lesson here as I’m quite the newbie when it comes to that myself, but I wanted to show you an example of a recent online promotion that I ran. I created it completely in Photoshop CS4… from scratch.

If you want to learn more about Photoshop for photography or graphic design, then I highly recommend that you check out the National Association of Photoshop Professionals, otherwise known as NAPP. I am going on my second year as a member and I have learned a TON about Photoshop by reading Photoshop User magazine (a subscription is included with membership), watching Photoshop User TV, and checking out all the great tutorials on the NAPP website. I highly encourage anyone wanting to know more about Photoshop to become a member.

That’s it for me today. I hope you guys have a great day and I’ll see you tomorrow! πŸ™‚

Where everyone learns Photoshop - National Association of Photoshop Professionals


2 thoughts on “Photoshop: Not Just For Editing Photos

  1. Best you should make changes to the webpage subject Photoshop: Not Just For Editing Photos Stephen's Photography Tips to more generic for your content you make. I loved the blog post all the same.

Leave a Reply

