Focus Your Photography


Hey everybody, I’m sorry for the late post today. I’ve had a lot going on this week with surgery and what not, so I’ve been slacking just a little.

Today I want to talk about something that has been resonating around the photography community lately. There are a lot of pros like Chase Jarvis and Zack Arias that are bring up points about getting back to your core, your roots, your beginnings, etc. It’s all about getting re-motivated, forgetting about the business side of things, forgetting about the new gear, and just shooting.

For myself, I really don’t have to worry about the business aspect because I’m not a full-time photographer. I shoot for friends, myself, and some new clients here and there. I talked about this before when I wrote about a piece that Jack Hollingsworth wrote in Shutterbug magazine. Amateurs have the spark, the drive, and the dedication and we shouldn’t lose sight of that.

What I’m bringing to the table is this: shoot what you want to shoot. It’s easy to lose sight of what brings in the money, what pays the bills, what attracts the clients. But if you aren’t enjoying any of it, you’ll end up burned out, demotivated, and depressed. There are a good many photogs out there that can attest to this.

So I’ll leave you with that thought to ponder as we head off into the weekend. I’ll see you guys back here on Monday and I’ll hope you’ll excuse me… it’s time to go shoot! 🙂


Leave a Reply

