Easy On The Eyes…


Nikon D90, 16-85mm VR @ 85mm, f5.6, 1/20th, ISO 400

I thought I would post an update today on the progress of my LASIK procedure and my vision. The procedure went fine and I’m actually seeing pretty good for not wearing glasses or contacts. I’ve worn glasses since I was in the 4th grade and started wearing contact lenses when I was in junior high. This is an amazing feeling… freedom from corrective lenses!

Of course you know I had to throw a shot up on the blog of what my eyes look like, and I have to say that they look A LOT worse than they actually feel. I really never felt a thing during the procedure, which took all of 45 minutes from prep to final exam. The car ride home was a little rough as the local anesthetic was wearing off and my eyes were VERY sensitive to light, even while wearing very dark sunglasses.

Once I got home I put several drops in my eyes (antibiotic, steroid, artificial tears), put my goggles on, and went to sleep for a few hours. The discomfort I felt before was gone and my vision was continuing to improve.

I go back in today for a follow-up visit and see just how good I’m seeing. I’ll be sure to post an update later. I have to say, if you wear corrective lenses and have the opportunity to do it, I would say go for it! I’m sold and I am very confident that my vision will remain problem-free for many years to come.

My hats off to the staff of the Navy Refractive Surgery Clinic here in San Diego… they have a great team and I am thrilled with my results already, even though my vision isn’t completely stabilized. It will only get better from here.

That’s all for now… I’ll be back later with an update for you on how I’m seeing. Have a great day!


Leave a Reply

