Build Expanability Into Your Gear Bag

In the digital age that we live in, new gear is being produced more and more often. Everyone likes getting new gear and having the latest and greatest camera that’s available. Enter the Nikon D90 and the Canon 5D Mk II. People have been buying those cameras like crazy because of the convergence of high-quality digital stills and the addition of HD video.

New gear costs money, that’s the bottom line. I hate to see photographers waste money and it’s really easy to get carried away without even realizing it. How can we battle this issue? Simple: build expandability into your gear bag. Today I’ll give you one way you can do just that.

The prices of full-frame DSLR cameras are coming down with new bodies such as the Nikon D700, Canon 5D Mk II, and the Sony a900. If you are planning on purchasing one of these bodies and are currently using a sub-full-frame camera (D90, 50D, or the like), you can save yourself some money down the road by paying attention to what glass (lenses) you are buying.

“What is this guy talking about?”

Here’s what I mean: I’m currently shooting with a Nikon D90. I one day hope to own a D700 or whatever the next full-frame DSLR that Nikon introduces that doesn’t cost $8,000.00. I also would like some new lenses to add to my arsenal too. However, I’m going to avoid buying DX lenses at all costs.

Why would I do that? Easy: DX lenses are only good on DX cameras, like the D90, D300, D200, D40, and so on. They are of no use to me on a full-frame DSLR like the D700 or the D3. With the hope of one day being a D700 owner, it makes NO SENSE to spend money on glass that I wouldn’t be able to use with the D700.

“But you’ll still have your D90, so why not?”

My D90 would then be my backup body, and I wouldn’t be shooting with it all the time. Remember, you can use glass on a D90 that takes full advantage of the full-frame sensor of a D700 but DX lenses force full-frame cameras like the D3 or D700 into DX crop mode. At that point, you’re wasting money that you spent to have the full-frame sensor. Are you following me here?

In summary, what I’m trying to say here is don’t spend money on gear that you can’t use later on down the road. You’ll spend money unnecessarily and you’ll wind up having gear sitting on the shelf or trying to move it on eBay or Craigslist. Not a good thing. Be wise in your purchases and don’t be afraid to ask for help before making a major gear purchase. Trust me, your bank account will thank you.


Leave a Reply

