SLIK 700DX Pro Tripod Review

When it comes to tripods and camera support, the biggest issue that we as photographers face is Stability vs. Weight. There are a couple of other issues that factor into the equation like Durability and Usability too.

Noting the above, I’m going to review the SLIK 700DX Pro tripod and explain why I chose the 700DX over some of the other tripods out there. Keep in mind that I bought the “legs-only” version of the tripod which didn’t come with a head. I use a Manfrotto 486RC2 Ball Head that I’ll review later.

I looked at a lot of different tripods in my quest for the best camera support for my needs. I looked specifically at carbon fiber models as well as alloy models. It didn’t take me long to rule out carbon fiber because of the price. Gitzo makes some really great tripod legs, but I wasn’t going to shell out $600.00 for a tripod. Sorry, it’s just not my style.

The SLIK 700DX Pro caught my eye because of it’s price and it’s features. Here’s a few of the things that I love about my 700DX:

  • Quick Release locks on the legs. This is pretty huge in my book. These snaps clamp the leg sections which makes it easy to lock each leg section in place when you have the length that you want.
  • Foam padding on the top of the legs. This was a “must-have” feature for me. Why? Last year I was shooting landscapes in Maine in the middle of winter… at dawn. It didn’t take long for my old aluminum tripod to quickly cool off. My hands would ache terribly by the time I was done shooting. (I don’t wear gloves because they are too clunky when it comes to making adjustments to camera controls.)
  • Solid support. The 700DX can support quite a bit of weight (15 lbs) which is really important if you want to throw a 70-200mm f2.8 or a 200-400mm f4 zoom on your camera. It is made of Aluminum-Magnesium-Titanium alloy (A.M.T.). Considering this baby only weighs 4.85 lbs, it does a great job of supporting my gear.
  • Removable center column section. I can shorten my center column and get my tripod really low to the ground which helps me get a more interesting perspective. This is an important feature to a lot of pro landscape shooters. (By the way, you can’t do this tripods in which all the legs are attached to the center column at the bottom of the tripod.)
  • Price. Hey, we’re all after a bargain and considering this tripod gave me all the features that I wanted for around $100.00 I couldn’t pass it up.

The tripod is made of etc, etc, etc.

As far as dislikes go, I really don’t have any. Even though it’s a little heavier than it’s carbon fiber counterparts, it doesn’t bother me to throw it on my Tamrac Expedition 7x backpack and walk around shooting for hours.

When it comes to tripods I’m definitely hooked on my SLIK and if I ever make enough money as a photographer to pony up the cash for a carbon fiber model, I’ll once again be calling on the dependability and durability that my SLIK 700DX Pro tripod has given me.


8 thoughts on “SLIK 700DX Pro Tripod Review

  1. This is helpful and I really would like to hear from you once again. I’m planning to opt the same combo as yours – in fact I’ve added them into the cart for checkout. It seems you have written this review almost a year back and how are you feeling now?

    It would be really to hear your opinions now on these and I bet it helps a lot looking for buying this.

    • I still really enjoy my SLIK 700DX and I use it all the time. It can be a little bit of a bear for travel because of it’s size, however it’s very sturdy. I really like using it to shoot landscapes in windy conditions. The camera stays still even with the wind blowing because this tripod is built rock solid. Sure, it’s not Gitzo… but you’re also not spending $700.00 plus dollars for it either! Let me know if you have any other specific questions about it.

      Cheers,

      Stephen

  2. Thanks Stephen for your kind reply. I’ll be using it mostly to family portraits, outdoor shoots with friends and experimenting at indoor. My gadgets are Canon Rebel Xsi, 18-55 IS (kit lens), canon 50mm 1.8 II and Canon EF 70-300/4-5.6IS USM. I may buy an external flash too on a later time. I’m not a professional in this field and not making any money from. So investing on high end gadgets like Manfrotto/Gitzo is not a wise idea at present. I hope this combination will be easy to handle as well fulfill my genuine needs.

    In my day job I’m working as a search marketing professional. I liked your blog and already read a few other articles too. It’s really helpful to read the real life experiences from a pro like you. Thanks a lot for this blog and keep going and I wish you all success. Please visit my flickr stream when you get time.

  3. Hi Stephen,
    I am working at an engineering lab and need a tripod that is stable, light but not fragile and portable. Stable is key, because we are recording data in wind farms and if the tripod is not stable and vibrates, our data is not accurate.
    I have been looking for a while for such a tripod, but my lab cannot afford an $800 Gitzo tripod for this experiment. How would the SLIK 700DX do in these conditions? Potentially I will have to install a removable tray in the centre of the tripod for laptops and cables.
    Finally, also because of high winds, I am thinking about buying or adding on myself, a tripod that has removable spiked feet to stick in the ground for additional stability.
    I would love to hear your thoughts, maybe you can think of a tripod that matches my endless conditions! đŸ™‚
    Best wishes,
    Roxanna

    • Hi Roxanna,

      Actually, the SLIK 700DX would suit your needs quite well! It is very stable, affordable, and it’s not very heavy – weighing in at 7 pounds.

      You could install the tray for the laptop, but Manfrotto makes a dual head attachment that attaches to the tripod and would allow for a laptop plate to be installed on one side and a camera (or other equipment) to be installed on the other.

      And finally, you can buy tripod foot spikes that would go into the ground for stability as well.

      I hope that helps out and please let us know how it works out.

      All the best,

      Stephen

  4. I am looking for a tripod for portrait on location and weddings. I look at the Slik 700DX, the Benro and the Manfrotto 055xb, the Slik is cheaper and tall enough. I do have a Manfrotto 322RC2 grip ball head, which had a large base to meet with the tripod. Is the 700DX head base diameter is large enought to cover the base of the 322RC2?

    Thanks,

    Alberto Ayala

    • Hi Alberto,

      Yes, the base of the SLIK 700DX would accommodate your ball head with no problems at all. I use a Manfrotto 486RC2 ball head and it fits great.

      Hope that helps!

      All the best,

      Stephen

Leave a Reply

