Nikon D90 & D-Movie: I Learned Something Cool

I am always trying to learn something new, and not just photography. I do my very best to learn something every single day. A couple of days ago I was reading an article on Digital Photo Pro magazine’s website about the full HD capability of the Nikon D90 and the Canon 5D Mark II. (Here’s the link to the article.)

In an earlier post I had complained about the 24 fps frame rate at which the D90 records. Little did I know, that frame rate is the exact frame rate used in digital cinema. Heh. Shows you just how much I know about video. I complained that really fast motion (like helicopter rotor blades spinning) appeared to be in slow motion. Well, that is one of the interesting effects achieved when recording in digital cinema. Pretty cool of Nikon to think about that when they created the D90.

So as you might have guessed, I’ll be spending some more time playing with the D90 and it’s D-Movie mode. The whole convergence movement is going to change things a lot in now and in the future. I would expect more camera manufacturers to be producing DSLRs just like the D90 and the 5D Mark II in the coming months.


Leave a Reply

