My Stock Photography at Dreamstime

I have an update for you regarding my stock photography experience. As you may recall, I had been submitting to Fotolia with very little luck. I had read a little bit about another microstock site called Dreamstime. I decided to create an account and submit a few images and see what happens.

Creating an account was easy and Dreamstime has a pretty slick interface. My account was set up in a matter of minutes and didn’t require any photo submissions for account approval either. I quickly logged in and downloaded their model releases. They are absolutely necessary and it’s always nice to have them on hand. I uploaded my files via FTP and I was all set. When you upload your files via FTP to Dreamstime, they automatically move them over for you to the Unfinished Files section of your account, but it could take a couple hours to do so. After my files were moved I named, keyworded, and categorized my images for final submission.

It took about 6 days to get the 14 photos that I submitted through the approval process, but they ended up keeping 10 of them and only rejecting 4. One of the files I submitted was a crap shoot because I shot it at a high ISO and used Imagenomic’s Noiseware Pro plugin to get rid of noise but there was still some there. The other three rejected images were also iffy because they were of a well-covered subject and for them to be accepted they have to be better than what the site is already selling.

I don’t intend for this to be a full review so I won’t go into much more detail at this time. After I work my way around the site and have some more experience with these great folks I’ll post a full review. I’m very pleased thus far and I think I’m going to really enjoy working with Dreamstime.


(Click the image above to see my approved photos on Dreamstime.)


Leave a Reply

