Testing The Water With Stock Photography

In my ever-expanding quest to further my photography, I have decided to “test the waters” (so to speak) with stock photography.  I’m not sure yet how this is going to work out, but we’ll have to see.  Who knows, maybe I’ll be good at it and I can generate a few extra bucks to help pay for my photography addiction, er hobby.  🙂

So, Why Microstock?
There are a lot of reasons to shoot and submit photos to microstock sites.  It has the potential to generate some income, you are constantly challenged to shoot new subjects/ideas, and it’s fairly easy to do.

For those of us who don’t shoot for a living, we mostly have regular daytime jobs that serve as our source of income.  That also means that there is little time to shoot portraits, weddings, etc., all of which are great sources of income for photographers.  But they’re time consuming.  Stock photography allows you to shoot things closer to home and the time invested isn’t as steep as the aforementioned methods of generating photography revenue.

Additionally I’m working on putting together a small studio in my garage so that I can shoot pretty much whatever I need at home.  Products, people, whatever.  I can shoot images for microstock sites and I don’t even have to leave the house.  It’s a great thing really.  Believe me, if I was off shooting weddings on the weekends my wife would not be happy.  As if my full time job doesn’t take me away enough, you know?

Since I’m just getting started in all of this, I will keep you posted on how it’s coming along and what’s happening.  I’ve uploaded a few images to Fotolia and I’m waiting on approval from their editors.  Hopefully it goes well!  When I know something, you’ll know something.

Have a great weekend, keep the shutter release going, and I’ll see you next week!

Leave a Reply

