Baby Portrait: Olivia

Over the weekend I had a small portrait shoot with Olivia for her 6-month photos.  We shot at Balboa Bark in San Diego and she did great.

Olivia-1

Here’s the same shot with a little different post processing to get a little different effect:

Olivia Soft-1

I shot with the Nikon D90 and a 50mm f 1.8 lens and an SB800 with a white shoot-through umbrella.  (Basically a Strobist rig)  All of my post was done in Lightroom 2.1.  It’s really easy to do post work when you get it right in the camera instead of relying on Photoshop to fix your problems. 

I don’t have any plans on making this a full-time gig or anything.  Maybe a few jobs on the side for now will be fine.  A photography business will still be an opportunity when I retire from the Navy and since I just re-enlisted for another six years, I’ll have plenty of time to practice before then no matter what I’m doing in the Navy.  Hey, I have to pay for my gear somehow!!!

Leave a Reply

