Today is Nikon D40 Inspiration Day!

pic_001 Last week Saurtan posted a comment in response to my post “Getting Your Camera In A Different Place“, and I have to tell you that it was inspiring.

Here’s what it said:

“Hi Stephen,
I happened to stumble across your blog a few days back and I have been hooked! I own a D40 as well and love what you are able to do with it.  Just thought I’d drop you a message to show my appreciation ) Enjoy your break!”

So with that in mind, I decided to make today Nikon D40 Inspiration Day and post a few images that were recently taken with my D40 and provide a little information to boot.

Since my family and I just got back to the West Coast on Friday, we wanted to take our kids to Disneyland after making the long haul across country.  Wanting to pack light on photo gear, I took only my D40 and my Nikkor 50mm f 1.8 prime lens.  No zoom, no flash, no nothing.  I was as light as light could be when it comes to photo gear.

It was overcast for most of the day, but there was still plenty of ambient in most places to provide enough light.  And with my 50mm being able to go wide open at f 1.8, I didn’t have much to worry about with regard to light.  Why didn’t I bring a zoom?  Well, I would have definitely needed a flash for a lot of the shots that I took because I don’t have a super-fast zoom like an f 2.8.  And like I said before, I wanted to go really light on my photo gear. 

The only challenge to only having a 50mm lens is that you have to move around a little more than normal to get the frame that you wan.  Big deal!  Didn’t bother me a bit and I actually had a lot of fun and enjoyed the challenge. 

Here’s a few of the shots:

Disney 2008-2

Disney 2008-1

 

Disney 2008-3
I always try and shoot the food.  

So there you have it, some D40 inspiration to get you through the week.  Remember, the camera is just a tool that helps you create images.  It’s the photographer that makes the picture, not the camera.

Leave a Reply

