A Rainy Day Shoot In Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

PV-3 My trip onboard my ship from Bath, ME to San Diego, CA has been very interesting and has even taken me to a few places I have never been before.  It even brought me to a couple places that I had been, one of which was Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.

I was really looking forward to getting out and doing some shooting, but Mother Nature had other plans which included rain on the two days I didn’t have to work.  The one day that I had to work, the sun was out and there were few clouds.  So what did I do?  I set out with my camera anyway!

When most people think of setting out to take photos on a cloudy and rainy day, they decide to do something else instead.  Not I.  Why would I subject my camera to the elements you ask?  Because a cloudy, overcast day is nature’s way of giving photographers a “natural softbox” that produces elegant and soft light.  There are no harsh shadows to fill with flash and the rain can add another element of depth to your photos.

PV-5
Nikon D40  f 5.6  1/500th  ISO200  Nikon 18-135mm f 3.5-5.6 @ 32mm

PV-4
Nikon D40  f 5.6  1/200th  ISO200  Nikon 18-135mm f 3.5-5.6 @ 135mm

PV-1
Nikon D40  f 5.6  1/500th  ISO200  Nikon 18-135mm f 3.5-5.6 @ 75mm

PV-2
Nikon D40  f 5.6  1/250th  ISO200  Nikon 18-135mm f 3.5-5.6 @ 31mm

I really would have liked to have had another day to head out and shoot, but it just wasn’t possible.  When you travel around the country and around the world, you have to accept the conditions that nature gives you.  Sure, I would love to be able to place an order for the ideal weather conditions that would best suit the needs of what I’m shooting.  But we all know that’s not going to happen.

So next time you take a look outside and see it’s cloudy or rainy, try taking your camera out and see what kind of results you get.  I think you will be surprised with the saturated colors and soft light that’s available to you.

Leave a Reply

