My "Big Project"

FC1_Zeller I know you have heard me mention before about this “Big Project” I’ve been working on.  Well, it’s true.  I have been quite busy working on the Commissioning Book for my Command.  Now, I haven’t been specifically working on the book portion but the photography instead.  You know all those portraits I wrote about?  Yeah, that’s them.  I think I shot around 300 or so.  This all in addition to my normal duties as a professional Sailor!

The Commissioning Book is sort of like a ship’s Cruise Book and documents all the people, places, and events of a deployment and in our case, the commissioning process that a new ship goes through.  I have really put a lot into this book and the photography that went into it as well.  Not only did I take the portraits, I also took most of the candids and most of the event photos.  I know it sounds nuts, but that’s kind of what happens when you’re the ship’s photographer. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining at all.  The experience that I have gotten out of this project is worth more than it’s weight in gold.  Sure, I didn’t paid for it but it will pay off later on when I retire from the Navy.  Then I can collect on the experience gained.  Once the book is out, I will post some images of some of the pages and work that went into it.  I worked a little in Adobe InDesign which was very cool, as I had never used that program before.  It took a little getting used to, but since I’ve worked with Adobe products for quite some time now it was pretty easy to pick up. 

I edited the last few portraits today and got them to the book coordinators to include in the book.  I will probably have a few more to take of late arrivals, but I consider my part of the project done.  No more late nights on duty spent in Photoshop and Lightroom into the wee hours of the morning!  (At least for this project anyway.)

I hope you have a great weekend and don’t forget to get out and get some pictures taken!  I will be doing the same.  I may head down to the Portland Headlight in Cape Elizabeth, ME to shoot some family photos before we sail away.  More on that to come!  See you next week!  🙂

Leave a Reply

