Tuesday’s Tip: Adding Texture To Your Light

Princess_ChairHere’s a little trick I learned from David Hobby when it comes to adding texture to your light.  I played around with it a little this week and you can see what I came up with.  I had a plain white wall to work on and so I used an SB28 with a pink gel and fired it through a water glass from my kitchen.  I lit Abbi with my homemade 1/2″ grid spot.  (Another little trick I picked up from David.)   Click the image for a larger view.

You can use a lot of interesting things to fire your flash through to make your light look cool and interesting.  Could you imagine how boring it would have looked if I would have just fired the flash onto the plain wall?  It would have been more interesting than a white wall, but still… you get the idea. 

Try it out for yourself and see what you can create.  Post your comments with links to your shots!

One thought on “Tuesday’s Tip: Adding Texture To Your Light

Leave a Reply

