OS X vs. Windows Vista (Mac vs. PC) For Photoshop and Lightroom Continued…

macvspc

Back in December I blogged about this subject a couple of times. Today I’m here to tell you that I’m about to eat my very own words. I had expressed my frustration and disgust for Windows Vista and how much I was displeased with it. Well, I’ll soon be purchasing a new laptop for my digital photography and guess what? It’s going to be a PC.

Before you flame-spray me with your comments, let me explain why. I had previously mentioned that most of the hardware is the same today for Macs and PCs which is still true. Comparing both side by side with consideration to price, Macs are very overpriced. So do I really want to pay $1,000.00 more for a notebook with the same hardware and a different operating system that only costs $130.00? NO WAY! I’m not hating on Macs because I still think they are great. But as I have gotten older (and hopefully a little wiser) I have become a little bit of a cheapskate.

When it comes to using Photoshop and Lightroom, the very most important piece of hardware you can have in your computer is MEMORY (RAM)! More RAM will make a greater difference in Photoshop/Lightroom performance than a faster processor (CPU). How do I know this? I upgraded my RAM to 2GB in my desktop machine running Windows Vista Ultimate which still has an outdated Pentium 4 2.4GHz CPU in it. I also use a Dell Latitude D620 at work which has an Intel Core 2 Duo 1.83 GHz CPU, 1GB of RAM, and runs Vista Ultimate as well. My 5 year old desktop smokes it when it comes to running Photoshop. The Dell laptop has a faster system bus, much newer hardware, and less running on it and my desktop is still faster because of the fact it has more memory.

Couple all of this with the fact that I already own Adobe CS3 Web Premium for Windows, Lightroom for Windows, and I use Word and Excel heavily for work. Yeah, I can get all of ’em for a Mac too but that’s just more money I would have to shell out. I can take that extra $1,000.00 I’ll save on the notebook and buy a new lens or other camera gear. It’s just not worth it to me.

So there you have it. I just ate my own words with regards to the computer I’ll choose for digital photography. Post your comments and let me know which OS you prefer or work with. Have a great week!

4 thoughts on “OS X vs. Windows Vista (Mac vs. PC) For Photoshop and Lightroom Continued…

  1. Software is like lenses; the investment doesn’t justify switching to a competitor for slight performance issues. I use Macs at home and have to use a pc at work. I’m equally comfortable on both platforms. I’ve had a similar number of crashes or system issues on both platforms. But like my Nikon glass, I’m more than knee-deep in Mac software, and I won’t likely switch as long as there are steep software upgrade discounts.

  2. Macs are so much easier to work with. Plus, in my experience, Mac laptops last a heck of a lot longer than PC laptops. I’d really prefer to have a PC, but with all the glitches, annoying updates, etc. — it’s just not worth it.

    • I have to agree. Macs are far much less hassle than PCs are. I love the fact that if an application hangs up on my Mac, it doesn’t lock up my entire computer. I can simply Force Quit the app and go back to what I was doing.

  3. @Stephen: Not sure the last time you used a Windows machine but if an app locks up in Windows it usually it quite easy to close without locking up the machine. On the other hand badly written apps can crash Windows from time to time (this has greatly decreased since Vista and 7).

    That is not to say that Mac’s don’t lock up because I have had OSX lock up quite a few times because of a (likely) badly written app. All in all it really depends how knowledgeable the user is, I am comfortable using OS X, Windows, and most distros of Linux but I could see the average user being more comfortable under OSX because of the simplicity (lack of options as well).

    In my experience Lightroom and Photoshop usually run faster and open quicker in OSX, which is likely Adobe’s lack of optimization for Windows. On the other hand Flash Player (web) for OSX is horrible and uses about 2-3x more CPU than under Windows.

Leave a Reply

