Update: Cactus V2s Triggers

Cactus Well, I didn’t get any shots worth posting yesterday, so I hope that you all aren’t too disappointed.  Hopefully today will be a little better.  As it cooled off here, there was a dense haze moving in over the beach which made for bad visibility and therefore bad pictures.  We shall see what today brings.

What I really want to do today is update you on my use of the Cactus V2s triggers.  I have been using them for several months now and I have to say that I am still just as impressed with them as I was the first week I had them!  They have been just as reliable and the little CR2 battery in the receiver is the same one that shipped with it.  I haven’t read any data about battery life, but I’ll be sure to let you know when it quits so you know about how long you will have before changing the CR2 battery. 

I still will argue that this is the best $38.00 that I have spent for any type of lighting gear.  I would have to buy ten sets of these triggers before I would have spent the same amount of money as ONE set of Pocket Wizards.  They are truly a great value and if you want to do wireless off-camera flash lighting without spending a ton of money, these are the way to go.  The huge advantage is that you can use any flash in manual mode and you don’t have to invest in a Canon or Nikon-specific system like Nikon’s Creative Lighting System.  That’s not to say that those systems are good, because they are great.  They are just very expensive.  Additionally, by using your flashes in manual mode you will learn more about how they work, how to set them up, and more about lighting in general. 

By the way, you can read my original review of the Cactus V2s triggers here.

That’s it for now.  I hope you have a great day and I am going to try and bring you some shots from Southern California today (fingers crossed).  I’m going up to see my brother, so I’m sure that I will at least have a couple of shots.  Happy Tuesday!  🙂

Leave a Reply

