Friday Photography Update

Here’s your Friday update with the latest and greatest before we head into the weekend!

Tamron70-200mm It looks as if Tamron now has an answer to Sigma’s 70-200mm f 2.8 lens that I blogged about recently. It’s the SP AF70-200mm F/2.8 Di LD (IF) Macro. Here’s Tamron’s product overview from their website: “While overall dimensions are confined to the absolute minimum, the new SP AF70-200mm F/2.8 zoom lens is packed with features that allow stress-free photography: a versatile MFD of just 37.4″ over the entire zoom range; best-in-class maximum macro magnification ratio of 1:3.1 at f=200mm; and an advantageous internal focusing (IF) system. The new tele-zoom lens covers a desirable focal length range of 70mm medium telephoto to 200mm telephoto when mounted on full-size format SLR cameras and a focal length range from 109mm to 310mm* ultra telephoto when mounted on a DSLR camera with an APS-C sized imager.” It sounds to me as if Tamron is looking to become a serious player in the third-party lens market. B&H Photo has these lenses listed for $699.00 (here’s the link), but they are not yet in stock. The lens features a built-in focus motor for those of us photogs who don’t have one built in our camera bodies.

Mac Fever! I’m really itching to get my hands back on another Mac and my wishes are about to come true. I have been working for about a year on a Windows box (both XP Pro and Vista Ultimate) and I still have to say that hands down I would rather have a Mac. I have set my sights on a 15″ Macbook Pro. The real estate of the 17″ model is great, however the 15″ is easier to travel with and when I’m in the studio processing images, I will be using an external display anyway. Sorry, I had to tell somebody. I don’t mean to brag. 🙂

Speaking of travel, over the next few months I’ll be visiting some incredible places. Next week I’ll be out in San Diego, CA. I’m going on business but you can bet I’m bringing my camera gear with me! I can’t wait! Closer to summer I’ll be in Baltimore, MD for our ship’s commissioning ceremony which is going to be spectacular! I’ll be shooting a ton of events there and hope to be able to share some of them with you. Beyond that, I can’t tell you where I’ll be heading. (It’s that whole “If I tell you, I’ll have to kill you” thing.) But rest assured that I’ll be in some great places that I can tell you about after the fact and share the shots I get with you.

Well, that’s it for today and this week for that matter. I’ll see you back here on Monday from sunny San Diego! For now, I have to go pack my t-shirts, shorts, and flip-flops. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

