What A Great Feeling

Today’s post has absolutely nothing to do with photography technique or Photoshop flare, but it has everything to do with photography.  I had to share this with you as it was such a moving experience that I couldn’t resist.

Yesterday I delivered a proof to a client who had asked for a bit of Photoshop work.  He had an older picture of himself as a baby being held by his mother.  He was interested in getting a picture of himself and his son together as babies.  When he brought me the photo and I sat down to work on it, I had an amazing thought.  Why not composite the image of his son in with his mother and himself?  As I carefully put the composite together, I realized that I was on to something really big for my client.  When I finished and printed the proof, I knew that I was on the right track for sure.  I brought him the proof and he was speechless.  I had done my job.

What moved me was not the quality of the job I had completed, rather it was the fact that I had created something for my client that he could never physically re-create.  As photographers and artists, we often focus on ourselves and the work we create.  It’s always nice to pat yourself on the back from time to time, but let us not forget about our responsibility to our clients, friends, or whomever we may be working for.  I will never forget the look on his face when I handed him his photo…

One thought on “What A Great Feeling

  1. Hello. This was a great entry!

    I read your blog faithfully. You always have good info. In fact, I just purchased the Catcus V2s transmitter/receiver set on your recommendation, and I love it so far! I am a fellow D40 shooter, so I doubly appreciate your blog.

    I wish you all the best success.

Leave a Reply

