Focus On Lighting Wednesday

DSC_0093-Edit

Lighting is said to be the language of photography.  It’s something that you should want to both understand and master.  I’m a student myself… I have always been fascinated by lighting.  It started by working on a lighting crew as kid at a music show in my hometown.  It’s what I did to earn a living before joining the Navy.  However, it wasn’t for photography.  It was mostly production lighting for music acts and conventions.  Although it’s different, a lot of the same principles apply to lighting for photography too.  If you study it, apply it, and learn from your mistakes (as I do) then will only get better.  As David Hobby says in his Lighting 101 course on his blog, we don’t want to always have a bunch of “happy accidents”. 

With all that said, I’m posting a couple of really great resources for you to learn about lighting and it won’t cost you a thing… mostly.  I say “mostly” because if you are like me you like to try doing what you just read, that may involve spending some money along the way. 

Check out David Hobby’s Lighting 101 course on his blog.  If you haven’t already read it, you’ll be glad that you did.  You will learn a lot in just a little time about lighting in general.  He focuses on using flash which is great because you can’t realistically get great, natural light all the time to suit your needs.

Another great site that I recently came across is Flash Flavor.  If you are especially into wedding photography, you will love this site and you need to be reading it.  These guys do some amazing things!  I read about it on David’s blog and I’m passing it along to you as well.

That’s it for today.  We’re halfway through the week and I don’t know about you, but I’m looking forward to the weekend.  I’m heading down to New York next week for a little Family Vacation and hopefully do a little shooting.  Of course I plan on going to B&H while I’m there.  I may come home broke.  Have a great day and I’ll see you all here tomorrow!  🙂

Leave a Reply

