How I Got This Shot: Cathedral Black & White

NC_Hall_BW

I hope you all had a great weekend!  In case your wondering, I had a great weekend!  It’s always great to be back home after being gone and I was ecstatic to spend some time with my wife and kids.  I kept the shooting to a minimum, but I did get a little time to process some shots that I took while I was gone.  I shot the above image at the National Cathedral in Washington, D.C.  It was a perfect candidate for a B&W conversion and here’s how it came about, from start to finish.

The shot was taken mid-morning around 10AM and it was a cloudy, overcast day outside.  Clouds are nature’s softbox for the sun, which made for some really beautiful, soft light inside the cathedral.  I shot it in Manual, f 4.5, 1/60, ISO 400, at 35mm with my Nikon D40 using an 18-135mm Nikkor lens. 

In Photoshop, I converted it to B&W using my preferred method that I learned from the Photoshop God, Scott Kelby.  (He didn’t actually teach me, I read it in one of his books.)  This method utilizes the Gradient Map Adjustment Layer and it’s my favorite of all the methods to convert color images to black and white.  Photoshop CS3 has a new adjustment that automatically converts to black and white and gives you a starting point, but I’m really not that impressed with it.  The Gradient Map Adjustment Layer still looks A LOT better to me.  After the conversion, I added some sharpening and I was good to go. 

I hope you enjoy the shot and be sure to let me know what you think.  If you have questions, send ’em my way!  Have a great week and it’s back to our regular posting schedule! 

One thought on “How I Got This Shot: Cathedral Black & White

  1. Pingback: How I Got This Shot: Cathedral Black & White

Leave a Reply

