Lighting Focus Wednesday

beamHey everyone!  Today I want to focus on one of my absolute favorite topics in the photography world: lighting.  One of the things that I am most passionate with my photography is lighting and how it affects the look, feel, and emotion involved in my images.  It’s that same passion (or obsession) that drives me to the blogs of great photographers like Joe McNally and David Hobby on a daily basis.  These guys know an awful lot about the subject and they have mastered their craft and graciously share their knowledge with the rest of the world.  A couple of class acts if you ask me.  I have never had the privilege of attending seminars where either of the two have taught, but I’m working on that part.  Once I can get my schedule to jive with one of their workshops you can bet that I will be there. 

With all that said, I wanted to bring your attention to a great article that David recently posted on his blog regarding lighting with umbrellas and what zoom setting to set on your flash.  (David’s blog is strictly about lighting and primarily with flashes or speedlights.)  The Nikon SB800 that I use can be zoomed from 24-105mm and as wide as 14mm if I use the Nikon diffusion dome or the wide angle adapter.  The article covers how to set up your zoom on the flash when shooting with a couple of different types of umbrellas (shoot-through or reflective) and knowing the information contained within can save you a lot of heartache.  Here’s the link.

Next on today’s list is a pretty hot little piece of info. that I found when I was browsing David’s blog.  Midwest Photo Exchange carries the Cactus V2s Wireless Flash Trigger kit that I have mentioned and use personally.  They sell the kit as well as individual receivers so that you can add receivers to your setups as you add speedlights.  I wish I would have known this since I ordered mine from Gadget Infinity in Hong Kong and had to wait about a week for them to arrive.  Midwest Photo Exchange sells them at the same price as you would pay for them on eBay or direct from Gadget Infinity and you probably won’t have to wait quite as long.  If you are thinking about picking up a kit for your own speedlights, stop thinking and just do it.  It’s the best $30.00 you will spend for a radio slave kit.  Think of it this way, you would have to buy six of these kits to equal the price of ONE Pocket Wizard.  Don’t get me wrong, people RAVE about PWs, but I would rather spend the extra dough on something else.  Go check out Midwest Photo Exchange and get off the fence!

That’s it for today folks.  As you may have noticed, I’m setting more of a schedule with regards to the content that I post to give you more of an idea of what to expect on what days.  If you have comments, suggestions, or would like to see something specific please let me know!  Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

