How I Got This Shot: Beach Landscape

OC_Beach_24FEB08

Happy Monday everyone!  I know, I know… it’s hard to be excited.  The weekend’s over and it’s back to work for most of us.  Today I bring to you Round 2 of “How I Got This Shot”. 

The image above was taken in Ocean City, MD.  Since I am still in Wallops Island, VA I decided to take a couple of trips over the weekend and shoot.  Ocean City is just a hop, skip, and a jump to the North and I had never been there before.  It’s a quaint little beach town with a boardwalk that’s 3 miles long!  The beach is clean (along with the rest of the town) which makes for a really nice place to visit.  Although it was only about 42 degrees yesterday, it was still nice to be at the beach.

I took the shot at about 5:20 PM EST right from the boardwalk.  The sun was setting to my right and over my shoulder a bit.  The clouds in the sky created some awesome color that you see above.  I shot it handheld at f/11, 1/30, ISO 200, and Auto White Balance with an 18-135mm Nikkor lens at 18mm.  Notice that I applied the “Rule of Thirds” and placed my horizon line in the lower 1/3 of the frame instead of smack-dab in the middle of the frame like you see in most snapshots.  It’s one simple little trick you can use to start making your images look more like the pros, no matter what kind of camera you shoot with. 

Post processing was done strictly in Lightroom.  Some stuff you have to take to Photoshop to process, but probably 75% of my work is processed only in Lightroom.  To me, that means that I’m getting most of it right in the camera!

That’s it for this Monday.  I’ll be in Wallops for the rest of the week and then it’s back home on Friday!  I can’t wait as it’s always hard to be away from your family even if I’m getting to go shooting while I’m gone.  Tune in tomorrow for another edition of “Tuesday News Reel” (hopefully my internet connection will hold up so I can bring you some news)!  Have a great day and an awesome week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

