What To Do With Prints

This weekend I was bored and decided to play with my camera and some of my youngest son’s toys.  Die cast miniatures from the movie “Cars” are among his favorites and they are pretty hot right now so I thought I would shoot them.  After I was done and I imported into Lightroom, it hit me; I could get some large prints, frame them, and use them as decor in my son’s room!  This way, he would have something really unique and personal in his room.  At this point, ideas were racing through my head and I began bouncing them off of my wife.  She was very enthusiastic about the whole thing too, which was very cool.  I attempted to use that as leverage to get her to let me buy some more gear, but I lost that battle. 

Here’s a couple of things you can do with large prints of your photos:

  • Kids Room Decor
  • Living Room Decor
  • Bedroom Decor
  • Office Decor

One of the reasons that I can get away with spending so much time (and money) on photography is that it benefits my family by creating lasting memories and they can get involved in it too.  My eight year old son loves to look over my shoulder when I’m working in Photoshop and my almost five year old daughter loves to take pictures with my D40.  My wife loves to re-decorate the house with prints of all sizes of my photos and even some graphics stuff that I do in Photoshop.  It’s a good thing, trust me.

Before I post some shots from this weekend, I will explain a little about my setup.  It was really pretty simple.  I shot on my dining room table and used 3 pieces of the 30″x40″ white foam board that you can pick up from Staples or Office Depot for $20.00 (they come in packs of 3).  I used one piece for the bottom, one for the back, and one for the side.  I propped them up together with my camera bag to form my mini-product studio.  I had my SB-800 on it’s stand with a Gary Fong Lightsphere II Cloud diffuser on it at camera left and pointing at the ceiling at about a 75 degree angle.  (This side had no foam board.)  My D40 was in manual as well as my SB-800 and I shot a either f5.6 or f11 and 1/125 at ISO 200.  I adjusted the power of the speedlight based on aperture.  Here’s what I wound up with:
 RSMQ

Doc 

Red

Cigars

All the processing for these photos was performed in Lightroom.  I didn’t take a single one of these images to Photoshop for processing. 

I hope everyone has a great week and a Happy Monday! (If there is such a thing!) 🙂 

One thought on “What To Do With Prints

  1. Very clever!

    Such an inexpensive way to get really swell items to hang on a child’s wall!

    At our house, however, it would be shots of Elmo or Spiderman.

Leave a Reply

