Scott Kelby’s Nikon D300 Review

It’s finally Friday and I’m pleased to tell you about one of the best reviews that I have read of Nikon’s new D300 DSLR. Scott Kelby has been putting the D300 to work and after thorough use, he posted a review on his blog. I can always trust Scott to provide his straight forward opinions about new gear, software, or anything else he reviews. Not only does he reveal all the great new features of the D300, he also mentions a few things that he didn’t really like about the camera. You can read his review here.

All-in-all, he confirmed to me that this is certainly the next camera body that I will purchase. Although that purchase is a short ways down the road, I’m still sold on the D300. I have heard nothing but great things about it and Scott even mentioned in his review that he’s selling his D2Xs and his D200 as he doesn’t need them anymore!!! WOW!!!

I hope everyone has a great weekend, now get out there are start shooting! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Scott Kelby’s Nikon D300 Review

  1. Need to know the best to use –Normal, Vivid or one of the other color aids. If vivid do you have the the active d lighting on normal or high or maybe off? Where do you put the saturation, hue and the other features?

    • The best advice I can give you is to play around with the Picture Control settings and find what you like. The reason I say this is because what I might like, you may not. Remember that Picture Control settings only apply to images shot in JPEG mode. If you’re shooting RAW, they will reflect on your LCD but they won’t come through when you import them. If you’re using Adobe Camera Raw, Lightroom, or Capture NX then you can apply those same profiles in your post production from within the software. I will make some recommendations though. If you’re shooting Landscapes, I like the way Vivid looks. I like Normal for shooting people because it renders skin tones so much better. For me though, I shoot exclusively in RAW so I don’t ever mess with the Picture Control settings.

      For Active D-Lighting, I always set mine to ‘Auto’ if I’m shooting available light. In the studio I usually turn it off because I want exact control over my highlights and shadows and I don’t want the camera doing any thinking for me.

      I hope that helps!

      Take care,

      Stephen

Leave a Reply

