My Workflow and The 7-Point System

Happy Saturday everyone! The weekend is finally here, and I couldn’t think of a better way to enter into a great weekend that with some info. about my own workflow. As you may recall, I have mentioned Scott Kelby’s new book “7-Point System for Adobe Photoshop CS3” several times in previous posts. It’s an incredible book and worth far more to even the novice photographer than the $40.00 that it costs. The book was written based on the workflow that Scott developed and uses for his own photography. Why would a photographer want to give away his secrets you ask? Because thats what Scott does! He enjoys helping others with software like Photoshop and Lightroom as well as photography.

For my own workflow, I download, organize, and import all of my RAW images in Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 1.3. This gives me a TON of control over what, where, when, why, and how with regards to staying organized with my images. Lightroom allows me to categorize, rate, pick, and reject (as well as many other things) images before I start the editing process. When I’m ready to start editing, I make most of my adjustments in Lightroom that I used to make in Photoshop’s Camera RAW. This includes white balance, exposure, recovery, fill light, clarity, and so on. Then I go into Photoshop and make Curves adjustments, color correction, remove blemishes and other distracting items, etc. Finally, I sharpen and save and then it’s back to Lightroom. I do all my printing or exporting in Lightroom and let me tell you, I absolutely love it. Lightroom allows me to create slideshows and html or Flash web galleries, which is great.

Scott Kelby’s 7-Point System is what my new workflow is built upon. I could go on and on about specific details, but then I would be basically re-writing his book for him, and there’s no need for that. You can check out Scott’s Blog for links to the books that he’s written as well as lots of other useful information. Below is a Before & After of one of my shots that I used “The System” on. Most people would look at the original capture and say, “That one’s going in the circular file.”

Before:
Host unlimited photos at slide.com for FREE!

After:
Host unlimited photos at slide.com for FREE!

As you can clearly see, the 7-Point System makes a HUGE difference in the quality of your images. I wonder how I’ve done without it for this long! I hope everyone has a great weekend. I’m still thinking of trying to get out and shoot, but we’ll see. The wind chill was down around 5 degrees this morning! 🙂

Leave a Reply

