Review: Pro HDR app for iPhone

Pacific Sunset

One of the things that I love about carrying around my iPhone is always having a camera with me – and a pretty damn good camera at that.  One of the things that has always been a burden to cell phone cameras though is that dynamic range of the sensor has been pretty limited, therefore making it hard to capture cool scenes that have a lot of contrast.  If you’re an iPhone user, I have great news for you – you can kiss those sensor limits goodbye.

Pro HDR is an app that was recently made available and it takes advantage of the iPhone by way of blending multiple exposures together to create a cool photograph of a scene that has a lot of light contrast.  For a mere $2.00, you can be on your way to creating some excellent images with your iPhone that were not really possible before.

If you have an iPhone 3G, I’m sorry to tell you that you’re outta luck on this one.  The app requires an iPhone 3Gs or an iPhone 4 and iOS 4.  Sorry new iPod Touch users, but if you have a brand new one there is no support for your device as of press time.  I would imagine that there will be support for iPod Touch users soon, as it now has a camera.

Coast Guard Cutter

I really love how simple this app is to use.  I can either operate it in Auto Mode or Manual Mode, giving me control over the exposures I choose to blend together.  From there, Pro HDR handles all the rest of the work and blends and aligns the images together to create the HDR image.  Once that process is complete, I can tweak brightness, contrast, saturation, warmth, and tint from within the app.  I can also choose to save it at full resolution or at a smaller 3MP resolution.  I can also choose to save my original captures if I so desire, in order to edit them later.  Pro HDR also features a Library HDR mode which enables the user to import images from their library to process as an HDR photo.

5-Inch Gun

The folks who developed the Pro HDR app chose to stay on the conservative side of HDR processing, which will likely appeal to more users.  While I’m a fan of the surreal look of some HDR work, there are others who aren’t and I think eyeApps was trying to capture the largest part of the market they could with the app.

Cutter at Sunrise

Performance-wise, the Pro HDR operates seamlessly on my iPhone 4 and I have yet to have the app crash on me.  That’s something I really appreciate these days – more than most people know!

Here’s the direct link to the app in the iTunes Store, so be sure and check it out.  It’s got all the screen captures of the app there, so I didn’t bother to post them here.  Pro HDR is WELL worth the $2.00 and all you’ll have to do is skip a half-a-cup of Starbucks to be able to afford it!

5 thoughts on “Review: Pro HDR app for iPhone

  1. I can’t believe the USCGC Chase is still in service! I worked on its overhaul back in the late ’80’s. She was in terrible shape; decks were perforated and the hull was close too! Good to see she is still able to perform her duties!

  2. Thanks for this review! I was looking at this app a few times in the app store but the description made it hard for me to decide if it’s good enough.
    Bought it after reading this review and I’m loving it!
    Your shots here are amazing, too (a lot better than what they use in their app descriptions…)

    • Attila,

      You’re welcome! Glad to hear that you’re enjoying the app! I’ve had a lot of fun with it and I really do enjoy using it to be able to get better photos out of my iPhone in high-contrast scenes.

      All the best,

      Stephen

Leave a Reply

